top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatherine S. Stafford

When The Stars Align

Have you ever made a promise to yourself...and kept it?


Last year, during the thick of self-sacrifice and "adulting" desperation, I told myself, that no matter what was happening for my family or me, if a certain commercial airline at a certain airport by a certain estuary had an entry level part-time position, I would apply.


Just months from completing almost two years relocated from our home so that my husband could go to grad school and my kids could be in a school district with a solid pandemic plan, I got the email. Set up 18 months prior, Indeed.com sent me its weekly list of SFO job postings.


And, there...it..was.

Southwest Airlines - Ramp Agent - PT - SFO.


Yipee!


Of course, I talked to my husband before applying. Duh! ;)


I made sure he was not only on-board, but that he also could attest that this was not just my ADHD brain seeking an adrenaline hit by needlessly complicating our life just as it was about to potentially simplify. (A.K.A. My brain yelling, "Shiny!" like a dog might bark and think, "Squirrel!")


He attested to my sanity. I was following my dream! This was something I had thought about and talked about for a long time. And here was the opportunity.


It took me days at my computer to sum up my employment-unemployment history for the last five years. They were the most complex of my life! (Thank you pandemic and partner's masters program.)


I also gave myself of stiff neck that landed me at my physical therapist. But I persevered knowing that this was import to me.


I jumped through the application hoops and made it to the online interview. By the time we got to the end of the hour, I thought the interview had gone well, and I anticipated hearing about the next steps in the process.


Instead...I was hired on the spot, pending security clearance and drug screening. As a nurse and boring person, I knew that was a shoe-in for those. I was in! At Southwest, my dream aviation company, and at SFO, my favorite airport.


With many family obligations between now and the end of the school year, my start date is not until June. If I could, I'd be on the ramp already! But good things come to those who wait.


I waited, holding my wish in my heart, and good things arrived on-time...and according to a schedule only known to the Universe.


Next post should around June 13th!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

IMUA!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page