top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatherine S. Stafford

One Tired Momma

I'll admit it. I'm one tired mama. I am experiencing everyday life--keeping children fed, clean and well-slept while coordinating life with my partner, along with my student load in painting and writing, along with keeping in shape and sane, along with this unending fascination with aviation. Yes, I just can't put my dreams in aviation on the back burner. They're burning now.

Recently I've added a few apps and podcasts to my Androids, and bookmarked a couple websites to my dash. I've been on the look-out for female pilot role models and noted where I found them below, and included a few individual podcasts. General Aviation Apps: FAR/AIM According to www.faraim.org: "The Federal Aviation Regulations (FARs) are rules prescribed by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) governing all aviation activities in the United States. The Aeronautical Information Manual (AIM) is the FAA's official guide to basic flight information and Air traffic control (ATC) procedures. The AIM contains the basic aeronautical knowledge information required to fly in the United States National Airspace System. It also contains items of interest to pilots concerning health and medical facts, factors affecting flight safety, a pilot/controller glossary of terms used in the ATC System, and information on safety, accident, and hazard reporting." Flightradar24 I just visited the Hiller Aviation Museum in San Carlos, California, with my dad, son and husband, and saw this air traffic tracking system in action on the big screen. Wow! My son loved to watch as the radar tracked the flight path of helicopters in the skies of the Bay Area. As a bonus, you can track the progress of that flight your mom and daughter are on. LiveATC Find, for example, a local airport or a Class B airport and listen in on air traffic control. My Radar Up-to-date digitally diagrammed weather info Podcasts specifically about women in aviation: https://www.podchaser.com/podcasts/witness-history-32238/episodes/women-airline-pilots-36663194 https://www.avweb.com/podcast/Podcast-Niloofar-Rahmani-Afghan-Woman-Pilot-Pioneer-230222-1.html https://jwa.org/podcasts/canwetalk/pilots-pilot

Websites: Dutch Pilot Girl -- https://dutchpilotgirl.com/female-pilot/ More to find!


(Originally published 2/17/17 by author on her blog The Passage.)


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

IMUA!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page