top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatherine S. Stafford

Flying Is In My Blood

The Lockheed T-33. Fast. Loud. Funny-lookin'.

Minutes ago I spoke to my Uncle Stan who flew one of these babies in the mid-1950's, when the plane had been around about ten years. I mentioned that the maximum speed was 600 mph and asked him if he'd flown that fast.


"Probably so," he said, like the understated-with-a-twinkle-in-his-eye kind of guy he is.


"Do you still have your flight suit?" I asked. Maybe I could wear it for my first solo.

"Naw," he said.


"Do you have your wings?"


"Maybe somewhere...."


Yippee, I thought. "If you find 'em, save 'em for me."


"I certainly will."

Flying is in my blood. Now back to the sound rush and visual aerobatics of the T-33 on Youtube.


(Originally Published 2/15/19 by author on her blog The Passage.)



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

IMUA!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page